The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Fairtrade promotes Fairtrade in Parliament. It supports MPs to engage with Fairtrade in their constituencies.

Parliamentary Reception
Holly Lynch (MP) with Fairtrade producers during Fairtrade Fortnight 2018.

Updated: December 2022.

The APPG for Fairtrade is co-chaired by Holly Lynch MP (Labour) and Jason McCartney MP (Conservative).

The group has more than 150 MPs and peers on its mailing list. The Fairtrade Foundation acts as secretariat.

The APPG for Fairtrade was first formed in 2015.

Emergency General Meeting December 2022

The APPG for Fairtrade held an Emergency General Meeting on 6 December 2022 to elect new officers.

This followed Huw Merriman MP stepping down as vice-chair following a cabinet appointment.

The APPG’s officers are:

• Holly Lynch MP, Labour (co-chair)
• Jason McCartney MP, Conservative (co-chair)
• Anne McLaughlin MP, Scottish National Party (vice-chair)
• Navendu Mishra MP, Labour (vice-chair)
• Jim Shannon MP, DUP, (vice-chair)
• Jess Morden MP, Labour (vice-chair)

How to get involved as a Member of Parliament or the House of Lords

Contact us by via email: or We can let you know about any upcoming Parliamentary events or Fairtrade activity in your area. 

Follow us on Twitter @FairtradeAPPG.

Download our guide to engaging with campaigner constituents.

Cover image of MP engagement doc

Official documents

  • Photo: (l-r) Holly Lynch MP, Nimrod Wambette, Chairperson of Bunabude Co-operative in Uganda, Catherine McKinnell MP, Faith Muthoni, Fairtrade Africa, at The Endangered Aisle, Fairtrade Fortnight 2023. Photo credit: Lizzie Westwood/Fairtrade Foundation.
Policy briefings and reports

We work with government, parliament, business, civil society and other stakeholders to advocate for policies that will make trade fair.

Frequently asked questions about Fairtrade

Find answers to some of the questions that are frequently asked about Fairtrade.